By: Jennifer Phan

Congratulations to our 2017 CATS Congress: President Mohammed Erfan’17, Vice-President Anna Merzliakova’18, Director of Media Relations Nina Sunago’18, and Treasurer Victoria Shi’17! Thank you to all of our candidates – the effort and commitment that you demonstrated are qualities of exemplary student leaders and, regardless of the positions you hold, you are and will be making positive impacts on our community. Thank you to our faculty, especially Professor Mike, for showing continuous support for the election.

Although this is CATS Congress’ first year and some of the candidates’ first time running for student government, the candidates’ campaigns were excellent and well-thought-out. Candidates employed various campaigning methods, evident from the numerous creative posters around campus. They also had the opportunity to present themselves as potential community leaders through their campaign speeches, and it was exciting to see our students so passionate about making CATS an even more active and inclusive learning and living environment for their peers and future generations. Improving student representation in the school’s decision-making process was a subject of great importance to many candidates, and the establishment of a CATS Congress by the students and for the students is undoubtedly a big step towards this goal.

Congratulations again to our newly-elected student representatives, and we look forward to the changes that you will bring to the school!